Life’s Motto and the ABC’s

The Holidays always mean one thing for my wife and I: Starbucks gift cards. I don’t know what it is, but everyone seems to think we love Starbucks. I’m actually writing this from a little coffee shop in Waldo (where’s Waldo you ask?), while sipping on a root beer chai. A ROOT BEER CHAI!? A chai with Shatto Root Beer Milk! My first drink included the sky parting and Belinda Carlisle singing “Heaven is a Place on Earth.” Anyways, as we walked into Starbucks the other day, my wife and I ran into an acquaintance we’ve known for many years. We both went to the same church for a time. We exchanged a small conversation, in which she ended it by telling me how much she enjoyed reading my blog. This made me smile. It brought hope. It ended my brief blogging hiatus. So, thank you for inspiring me to continue writing.

I saw “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” over break. I must say, it was one of my absolute favorite movies. Probably, because I identify so much with the main character. It was like the director made a biography about me! The Secret Life of Jared Montgomery for the world to see. I was exposed. I have always been a dreamer and a day dreamer at that. I plan on turning all my dreams into reality.

Today I’m going to share two things from the movie (Don’t worry, this is NOT a spoil alert. This will not ruin the movie. So, continue reading with a clear conscience) that I believe will help anyone who wants to pursue their dreams. These things inspired me and I believe they will do the same for you, no matter where you find yourself in life.

Number 1:

I want to share with you one line from the movie that can be life changing to the way you live your life. Here it is, summarized from my memory, not exact:

“I’m living by the ABC’s of life. Adventure, bravery, and creativity.”

Adventure.
Do what is in your heart. Do what you’ve always “wished” you could do. You can! Be yourself. Find what makes you come alive and do it. Come alive. Enjoy life. See the world. Move. Start that business or idea. Live an adventure, even if it’s not normal or “wise”. Normal is boring and life-sucking. Be you. To live this way, you’ll need courage. Be brave.

Bravery.
Fear is paralyzing. It will literally stop you. To be who you want to be, live how you desire and do great, adventurous things, you will need to be brave. You can do it!

Creativity.
Get creative. You are a creative being. Creativity causes you to come alive. So, use your right side of the brain for a bit. This is when you find yourself doing something and time ceases to exist. It’s when you create a Pintrest craft or paint a picture and two hours feels like 20 minutes. Lose yourself in something.

If it ever seems too hard, impossible, scary, ludicrous, abnormal or wild, just listen to that little MJ voice in your head (wait, you don’t have one of those?) as he tells you: “ABC, it’s easy as 123. ABC. 123. Baby you and me.” You can do it!

Image

Number 2:

In the movie, Walter worked for Life Magazine. Life Magazine’s motto was: “To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other and to feel. That is the purpose of life.”

I’ll let that motto speak for itself. I encourage you to see the world, draw close, feel, live the ABC’s, enjoy life, be yourself, encounter others, love and be loved.

And if you have the time and money, check out “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”.

Image

Leave a Reply

